What May Be Used By Vegetarians In Place Of Fish Sauce?

Fish sauce is a popular ingredient in Southeast Asian cuisine, providing savory umami flavors to dishes like papaya salad or pho. Umami is the fifth taste and is a Japanese term that refers to the tanginess of fish. Soy sauce, a popular vegan fish sauce substitute, can replace the salty, savory flavors that fish sauce adds to recipes. However, finding a vegan- and vegetarian-friendly alternative for fish sauce can be challenging.

There are several fish sauce substitutes that can be used, such as light soy sauce, tamarind, coconut aminos, and seaweed. These alternatives offer a savoury, salty kick to dishes and can be made with plant-based ingredients. For vegetarians, try using a light soy sauce, which is slightly stronger in flavor.

Vegan-friendly alternatives to fish sauce include maggi sauce, which is more processed than traditional soy sauces, and vegetarian oyster sauce, which has a similar savory, umami flavor that can enhance recipes. Coconut aminos, similar to soy sauce, is high in umami and contributes to umami synergy in this recipe.

Several vegan fish sauce alternatives, such as soy sauce, tamari, miso paste, coconut aminos, and mushroom broth, are available. Some of the most popular options include 1 ¼ cup water, 1/4 cup dulse (loosely packed), 1/4 cup dried shiitake mushrooms, 2 tsp sea salt, and 1 ¼ cup mushroom broth.

In summary, there are several vegan fish sauce alternatives, including soy sauce, tamari, oyster sauce, seaweed, and coconut aminos. These alternatives offer a variety of flavors and can be used in various dishes to create a unique and delicious flavor experience.


📹 Super Quick Video Tips: How to Make a Vegetarian Alternative to Fish Sauce

Pump up the umami of any dish with this easy-to-make, meat-free alternative to the Asian food staple. Watch more Super Quick …


📹 Vegan Substitute for Fish Sauce Recipe – Easy & Quick

So many Thai food recipes contain fish sauce that would exclude strict vegetarians and vegans from enjoying some of the world’s …


What May Be Used By Vegetarians In Place Of Fish Sauce?
(Image Source: Pixabay.com)

Rae Fairbanks Mosher

I’m a mother, teacher, and writer who has found immense joy in the journey of motherhood. Through my blog, I share my experiences, lessons, and reflections on balancing life as a parent and a professional. My passion for teaching extends beyond the classroom as I write about the challenges and blessings of raising children. Join me as I explore the beautiful chaos of motherhood and share insights that inspire and uplift.

About me

2 comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • This is simply the expensive & time consuming way of literally Making MSG. If you want the taste ‘benefit’ of MSG & don’t care about the health issues, just add MSG. MSG is covered legally by both the “artificial” & “natural” flavor ingredient labellings. Here is a classic case of it potentially being Both, depending upon how the soy sauce is made. Why delude yourself & spend all the time & effort to manufacture & add ‘vegetarian’ MSG? Poison ivy is “natural” too. Do you want it in your salad?

  • “Shiitake mushrooms, which contain nucleotides, another source of savory flavor” Every living thing contains nucleotides. It’s just what makes up strands of DNA. Literally everything you cook with, with the exception of salt, contains nucleotides in one form or another. It’s not that the nucleotides that trigger the savory sense, AKA “umami.” It’s glutamate. Beef, tomatoes, fish, soy, and especially mushrooms are extremely rich in this amino acid. Saying nucleotides are a source of savory flavor is like saying nitrogenous bases are salty. Don’t make stuff up for the sake of sounding scientific.

Pin It on Pinterest

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies.
Accept
Privacy Policy